A MelanieM Review: Terra Firma (Earthquake #5) (Pulp Friction 2014 #20) by T.A. Webb

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Terra Firma coverWith everything that has gone down in the past months, Charlie Turner would rather take a bullet than hurt the man  he loves,  Amos Greene .  But Charlie is in possession of some knowledge that he’s not sure Amos wants to know about.  And the indecision and secrecy is killing him.

Amos Greene grew up in a series of foster homes that left him abused, hardened, and closed off. Meeting Charlie Turner changed his life. Now Amos is part of a family. But there’s still a little bit of him that wonders who he really is.  Little does he know that Charlie has a file in his possession that will change everything for both of them.

Now all Charlie and Amos need is a little more courage and trust to see them through to the ending they both deserve and desire.

Terra Firma by T.A. Webb has settled into my heart like the warm glow of a crackling fire on a cold winter’s night.  The warmth and light draws you in after leaving the cold and dark behind.  You appreciate it so much more because of the past surroundings and the journey you took to hearth and home.  Terra Firma feels like that.  It feels like coming home.

Through a remarkable four stories we have watched Charlie Turner and Amos Greene struggle with commitment, trust issues, bigotry, horrific abuse, and a family in tatters.  And cheered as each man faced the obstacle in front of them and survived, as individuals and, finally as a couple we have learned to love.  Along the way, Charlie and Amos became a family, along with Charlie’s younger brother, Damon.  Still there always seems to be one more barrier to overcome, one more secret to surface before things can become sane and happy once more.

T.A. Webb drops us into Charlie and Amos’ life just as another wave of change approaches.  And while Charlie sees this one coming, what it will leave in its aftermath is anyone’s guess.  All three of the main characters that make up this complex family have been wounded by life, yet Webb meshes their damaged natures and needs into a whole that feels real and intimate.  Terra Firma is that place Charlie, Amos and Damon have been looking for, emotionally and physically and now it seems that another barriers has to be faced, although this time they do it together.

Earthquake has always been a series played out on a smaller stage, with the cast of players decreasing story by story until this last installment is almost a cast of three.  It’s a warm, close knit group that now feels as familiar as old friends.  The last hurdle?  A file folder containing information about Amos’ background and history, something that has caused him profound pain and determined his life path towards Flagstaff and Charlie.  As the scene plays out, the dynamics between Amos and Charlie, Charlie and Damon, and Damon and Amos, step onto the stage, each unfolding with believable interchanges and loving dialog.  And as the men grapple with the information, the cloak of family falls over all of them, and makes it possible for them all to move forward.

As I said, Terra Firma, the solid foundation Charlie, Amos and Damon have been seeking, has arrived and it is my favorite story of them all. It’s comforting, warm, and embracing. Its love, family, and the future you always wanted rolled into one.  How amazing that T.A. Webb accomplished so much in only 40 pages.  That’s the power of succinct storytelling and  a depth of characterization that continues to pull you in line after line.  That’s a beautifully constructed and  well written narrative doing the job it is supposed to do and then some.  That’s Terra Firma by T.A. Webb, short story writing at its best.  Dont miss out on this amazing book.  But start at the beginning, enjoy the journey.  It will make this happy ending so much more satisfying as well as one to remember.

Cover art by Laura Harner.  Another great  cover in a series of covers.  The branding is especially effective.

Sales Links:  All Romance eBooks     amazon    Terra Firma

Book Details:

ebook, 40 pages
Published October 31st 2014 by A Bear on Books
edition languageEnglish
seriesPulp Friction 2014 #2



About Pulp Friction 2014

Pulp Friction 2014 Authors: Laura Harner ~ Lee Brazil ~ Havan Fellows ~ T.A. Webb
The Pulp Friction 2014 Collection. Four authors. Four Series. Twenty books. One fiery finale. Spend a year with an eclectic group of strangers brought together through circumstances, as they are tested by life, and emerge as more than friends.
The strongest bonds are forged by fire, cooled in air, smoothed by water, grounded in earth.

Although each series can stand alone, we believe reading the books in the order they are released will increase your enjoyment. The Pulp Friction 2014 series in the order they were written and should be read to understand the characters, events and plot:

Round One:
Firestorm (Fighting Fire: 1)by Laura Harner
Cold Snap (In From the Cold: 1) by Lee Brazil
Blown Away (Whispering Winds: 1) by Havan Fellows
Higher Ground (Earthquake: 1) by TA Webb

Round Two:
Controlled Burn (Fighting Fire #2) by Laura Harner
Cold Comfort (In From the Cold #2) by Lee Brazil
Blown Kisses (Whispering Winds #2) by Havan Fellows
Moving Earth (Earthquake #2) by TA Webb

Round Three:
Backburn (Fighting Fire #3) by Laura Harner
Cold Feet (In From the Cold #3) by Lee Brazil
Blown Hard (Whispering Winds #3) by Havan Fellows
Tremors (Earthquake #3) by T.A. Webb

Round Four:
Flare-up (Fighting Fire #4) by Laura Harner
Out In The Cold (In From the Cold #4) by Lee Brazil
Blown Chance (Whispering Winds #4) by Havan Fellows
Aftershocks (Earthquake #4) by T.A. Webb

Round Five:
Radiant Burn (Fighting Fire #5) by Laura Harner
Cold Day in Hell (In From the Cold #5) by Lee Brazil
Final Blow (Whispering Winds #5) by Havan Fellows
Terra Firma (Earthquake #5) by T.A. Webb

Sixth Book Series Finale Written by all the Authors coming in December.

Side Stories or Interludes:

Taking Chances by Lee Brazil (a In From the Cold story)
Wicked Winds (Whispering Winds 3.5) by Havan Fellows – bonus book, Whispering Winds
Frankie’s Knight (Elemental Connections: IV) (Earthquake #3.5)
Kismet & Cartwheels – bonus book, Fighting Fire

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.