A Free Dreamer Review : Salmon and The Hazel (Rowan Harbor Cycle #8) by Sam Burns

Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Jesse’s only priority in life is protecting the people he loves, so he’s determined to see Rowan Harbor’s wards rebuilt. There’s just one problem: they’re missing an ingredient that can’t be ordered online.

Jesse volunteers to search for the missing component in the realm of the fae, but his boyfriend, Sean, isn’t letting him go alone. The town has an enemy among the fae, so they’ll need to keep a low profile. Along their way, they find unexpected allies, surprising enemies, and a whole host of problems.

The journey is a test of their endurance, but also of their relationship and their faith in each other. Can they find what they need and get back home in one piece in time for the summer solstice?

I can’t believe “Salmon and the Hazel” is already the penultimate book of the series. Only one more book to go!

Once again, this book is not a stand-alone, you have the read all the previous books in the right order to fully understand and enjoy them.

I’ve liked Jesse and Sean from the beginning. They’re great together and I really enjoy their dynamic.

This is the first book of the series that isn’t set in Rowan Harbor. Instead, Sean and Jesse go traipsing off into the realm of the fae to find that one crucial ingredient for the warding spell. It was interesting to discover a whole new world, but I would have liked a few more details.

Sean and Jesse really grow as a couple. Or rather, Jesse does, I guess. I really liked how they worked together in this weird and potentially dangerous world. Their adventure was very enjoyable and I loved some of the things the author came up with.

I was happy with their HEA. It was perfect for the two of them and it wasn’t as cheesy as that of Devon and Wade.

Overall, this was once again a thoroughly enjoyable trip to Rowan Harbor. It makes me a little wistful that I won’t get another book with Jesse and Sean.

Cover Design: Melanie Farlow @ Clause & Effect The cover fits with the rest of the series, even if I’m not a huge fan of the overall look.

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK – Exclusive to Amazon and Available to Borrow with Kindle Unlimited

Book details: ebook, 146 pages

Published July 4th 2019

Length: 43,000 words approx.

The Rowan Harbor Cycle Series

Book #1 – Blackbird in the Reeds – Amazon US | Amazon UK
Book #2 – Wolf and the Holly – Amazon US | Amazon UK
Book #3 – Fox and Birch – Amazon US | Amazon UK
Book #4 – Hawk In The Rowan – Amazon US | Amazon UK
Book #5 – Stag and the Ashe – Amazon US | Amazon UK
Book #6 – Adder and Willow – Amazon US | Amazon UK
Book #6.5 – In Any Light – Amazon US | Amazon UK
Book #7 – Eagle In The Hawthorn – Amazon US | Amazon UK

By Scattered Thoughts

At over 50, I am ruled by my terriers, my gardens, and my projects. A knack for grubbing about in the woods, making mud pies, and tending to the injured worms, bugs, and occasional bird and turtle growing up eventually led me to working for the Parks. I was a park Naturalist for over 20 years, and observing Nature and her cycles still occupy my hours. From the arrival of Ruby-throated Hummingbirds in the Spring to the first call of the Snow Geese heading south in the Fall, I am entranced by the seasons. For more about me see my bio on my blog.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.