A Lila Audio Review:Trick Roller (Seven of Spades #2) by Cordelia Kingsbridge and Wyatt Baker (narrator)


Rating: 4 stars out of 5

It’s the height of summer in Las Vegas. Everyone believes the serial killer Seven of Spades is dead—except Levi Abrams and Dominic Russo—and it’s back to business as usual. For Levi, that means investigating a suspicious overdose at the Mirage that looks like the work of a high-class call girl, while Dominic pursues a tough internship with a local private investigator. The one bright spot for both of them is their blossoming relationship.

But things aren’t so simple. Soon Levi is sucked into a dangerous web of secrets and lies, even as his obsession with the Seven of Spades intensifies. Dominic knows that Levi isn’t crazy. He knows the Seven of Spades is still out there, and he’ll do anything to prove it. But Dominic has his own demons to battle, and he may be fighting a losing war.

One thing is certain: the Seven of Spades holds all the cards. It won’t be long before they show their hand.

Trick Roller is one of those rare books in which the sequel is better than the first book. It’s also slower and less complicated. The reader has more time to get into the characters and be part of their growth instead of concentrating primarily on solving the mystery.

I enjoyed the amount of detail in the story. It’s not info dump, but a great characterization. The author takes time to plant small details about the characters, their past, present, and hard times. The story is an intricate web of events and personalities that move the plot forward.

Levi and Dominic aren’t perfect, which makes the book interesting. They can be anyone we know dealing with their everyday issues. Their relationship also develops in this book and I’m glad they were in sync during the story. It was them against the world. The book has an ending, but the series ends in an interesting cliffhanger.

This time around, the narration by Wyatt Baker wasn’t as bad. Yes, I still had issues recognizing the speaker but I was familiar enough with the characters.

The cover by Garrett Leigh has elements from the story and it matches the previous book in the series.

Sales Links:  Riptide | Audible | iTunes

Audiobook Details:

Narrator: Wyatt Baker
Length: 7 hours and 56 minutes

Published: March 19, 2019 (Audio Edition) by Riptide Publishing
Edition Language: English

Series: Seven of Spades
Book #1: Kill Game
Book #2: Trick Roller

An Ali Review: Kill Game (Seven of Spades #1) by Cordelia Kingsbridge

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Homicide detective Levi Abrams is barely holding his life together. He’s reeling from the fallout of a fatal shooting, and his relationship with his boyfriend is crumbling. The last thing he’s prepared for is a serial killer stalking the streets of Las Vegas. Or how he keeps getting thrown into the path of annoyingly charming bounty hunter Dominic Russo.

Dominic likes his life free of complications. That means no tangling with cops—especially prickly, uptight detectives. But when he stumbles across one of the Seven of Spades’s horrifying crime scenes, he can’t let go, despite Levi’s warnings to stay away.

The Seven of Spades is ruthless and always two moves ahead. Worst of all, they’ve taken a dangerously personal interest in Levi and Dominic. Forced to trust each other, the two men race to discover the killer’s identity, revealing hidden truths along the way and sparking a bond neither man expected. But that may not be enough to protect them.

This killer likes to play games, and the deck is not stacked in Levi and Dominic’s favor.
I thought this was really good.  I haven’t been this excited about a new series in a long time.  In fact, if the rest of the series was done I would have binge read the entire thing.  When the story starts we meet both Dominic and Levi.  They know each other through their jobs but they don’t know each other well.  When a serial killer starts hunting prey in their city they end up crossing paths in a more detailed way.  The two men both feel the chemistry between them but there is a lot going on in both of their lives and getting together is a complicated things.
As the book proceeds the two MC’s get drawn together repeatedly due to the circumstances of the case.  I loved how the author handled these two getting together.  It’s a slow burn and it’s obvious she’s going to take her time building their relationship and I for one am really excited about that.  I love ongoing series where the main characters have time to build a solid foundation and where the author takes the reader along and lets us see all the steps along the way. 
I liked both Levi and Dominic and I thought they were both well done and thoroughly fleshed out.  They came across as realistic people with realistic problems.  Both have some issues they’re going through and the author shows us their vulnerabilities and flaws.  Despite that, or maybe because of that, I immediately connected with them both.  There are a host of side characters (friends, family, co-workers) that we both interesting and added to the overall plot.
The author did a good job on the mystery aspect of the case.  I thought it was entertaining and pretty fast paced.  I have some theories about who the killer is and I’m eager to get to the next installments of the series to see if I’m right or not.  The murders were sufficiently creepy but not too gruesome or dark. 
So, again, this was really good and is going to go on my “best of” list this year.  It looks like there will be 5 books total in this series and I can’t wait to read them all.
The cover was done by G.D Leigh and I think it’s fantastic.  It fits the creepy vibe of a book about a serial killer.  I think it’s super eye catching and attractive.  When you get to the end of this book you can see the covers for the rest of the books in the series and they are all great.  They are distinctive and they match well.  You’ll have no trouble seeing that they are a matched set.
Sales Links:  Riptide Publishing | Amazon
Book Details:
ebook, 297 pages
Published October 23rd 2017 by Riptide Publishing
Original TitleKill Game
Edition LanguageEnglish
SeriesSeven of Spades #1 settingLas Vegas, Nevada (United States)
Nevada (United States)

The Seven of Spades series is best read in order of publication, which is as follows:

  1. Kill Game (October 23, 217)
  2. Trick Roller (January 29, 2018)
  3. Cash Plays (April 30, 2018)
  4. One-Eyed Royals (July 30, 2018)
  5. A Chip and a Chair (October 22, 2018)